Life In London

“Sir, when a man is tired of London, he is tired of life; for there is in London all that life can afford.” – Samuel Johnson

We are officially through month number 1 here in London! I think I’ve walked about a thousand miles around this city and gone even farther on the tube.

All the places I’ve been so far: Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, Parliament, St Paul’s Cathedral, Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Trafalgar Square, Millennium Bridge, Buckingham Palace and Changing of the Guards, Leicester Square, The National Gallery, Piccadilly Circus, Fleet Street, the O2, Kensington Gardens, Harrods, Kensington Palace, Brick Lane, the Albert Memorial, the British Museum, Oxford Street, Westfields Mall, Noel Coward Theatre, Old Spitalfields Market, the Imperial War Museum, South Bank, and Neal’s Yard.

One of my favorite things about London is how the old and historical blends in so seamlessly with the new and modern. I love all of the history that London has and you can see it on every street and in all the buildings.

What I’ve learned about London so far:

  1. Always carry your umbrella. It rains a lot and unexpectedly.
  2. Get an Oyster card for the tube and use the TFL website to check your routes because something is always closed for maintenance.
  3. You will have some very toned legs when you leave, because you walk everywhere and no surface is flat or even in this city.
  4. Take advantage of the free things to do, like parks and museums. London is not a cheap place. Also, embrace the sun. It doesn’t show up very often.
  5. Sainsbury’s and Tesco meal deals are life-savers. Lunch for 3 GPB? You can’t beat that.
  6. It is crowded and busy just about everywhere in this city, especially on the weekends in central London. Be prepared to get hustled around in a crowd, wait in queues, and probably get bonked with a couple umbrellas. The British may be polite, but they’re not always crowd-friendly. Neither are tourists.
  7. Nando’s is to London as Whataburger is to Texas. Peri-peri chicken is all the rage here. Some of the guys in office even have Nando’s Fridays.

While I am in LOVE with London and I really enjoy my internship, I do miss Texas (and Mexican food and sunshine and Dr Pepper) and my friends and family. But its good to know that I could survive somewhere far away from home without having a total meltdown, since I’m never really sure where I could end up after graduation. (Eek, that happens this year!)

As far as travel out of London, I have a few trips planned! I’m spending a day in Paris on March 14, a long weekend in Ireland over Easter, and a weekend in Edinburgh with my friend Francesca later in April.

 

One thought on “Life In London

  1. Great to find some other people who end up in London because of an internship. I lived in London for six months back in 2012, when I did my internship there. I grew to love the place so much that I’ve decided that when I’ve my Master’s diploma in my pocket, I’ll move there. Looking forward to read more of your London adventures!

Leave a Reply

