Weekly Reflection 7

Select three (or more) skills that are important in this industry. In your own words, evaluate yourself in these skills. Have your improved? What opportunities are there for you to continue to improve?

In the sports industry, I think the ability to adapt and be flexible is one of the most important skills you can have. Organization and time management are also crucial to success in the industry, as well as a strong work ethic.

The sports industry is a multi-faceted one. With the Bombers, it wasn’t just about playing baseball. There was also sales, sponsorship, on-field entertainment, social media, media relations, player management, game day operation, food and retail sales, and so much more. Let Me Play is the same way. They run multiple different school programs, holiday activities, education centers, and summer camps. The also host tour groups, take on alternative education programs, deliver on government programs, run active social media and blogs, film videos, and more.  You have to be prepared to play a part or pick up any of those projects at any time. While my job is mostly office work, I spent one Friday helping guide and watch children at a production for a school holiday program. Last week, I had to travel to the airport and then to Windsor Castle to help chaperone a tour group we were hosting. I’ve worked on projects from different departments, including education brochures, school program presentations, and summer camp delivery manuals. You never know what you may have to do next, so you have to be prepared for anything.

I think flexibility is one of the skills I’m quite accomplished at. I’ve worked in a few different jobs that had odd responsibilities. I try to be willing to help and take on new projects as much as possible, as long as it doesn’t interfere with my work.

With so much to do, it is important to be organized and manage your time. Everyone in the office keeps detailed planners of their meetings and schedules and I try to keep mine up to date. I use the sticky notes function on the desktop of my computer to keep a to-do list, so I know what projects I have to work on for the day. I have my email set up in folders for each project and my emails are moved into folders and out of my inbox once I have completed the task, so my email stays clean and organized. I also have folders on my computer set up for different projects, so I know where all my documents are. While the interns don’t “officially” have their own desk, most of us spend our office time in the same place. We use plastic folders to keep all our personal work organized, so if we have to move desks, we don’t have to worry about where our papers are. I also keep a notebook at my desk, so when I take notes, I know just where to find them if I need to reference them.

Organization is something I’d like to think I’m good at, but sometimes I get lazy, caught up in work, or just forget. Staying organized is a skill that I’ll keep working on, because I’ve found it helps me in my work. The email inbox trick, which I learned in my summer internship, is one of my favorites, because I can get lost in my emails without labels and folders.  I also like to write things down and keep notes, so a notebook and a planner are some of my go-to organization tools.

To work in the sports industry, you definitely need a strong-work ethic. With so many things happening in such a fast-paced industry, it is easy to get swept up in all the work. You have to work hard all day, and even outside of your office hours, to make sure everything is accomplished. During the summer with the Bombers, we’d stay out at the field until midnight if we needed to just to finish our work and get everything ready for the next day. I’ve gotten task emails from my supervisor here at Let Me Play dated from late the night before, so I knew she was up late working. If you don’t have a strong work ethic or aren’t dedicated to the work you’re doing, the sports industry could be too much for you, and you won’t be happy in your job.

After seeing just how hard the people in the industry work, I’m definitely prepared to try and chase a career in sports. I think just being prepared and willing to work hard will help me in my future career. I know that if I push myself and find a purpose in my work, and find a place where I fit in and enjoy working, I will be happy in my career.

Leave a Reply

